Town of Lyme Board of Selectmen Minutes for March 20, 2008

- 1. The regular meeting of the Board of Selectmen convened at 8:00 AM in the Fire Station training room. The following attended the entire meeting: Dick Jones, Simon Carr and Charles Ragan. The following attended parts of the meeting: Town Clerk Patty Jenks, Police Chief Pauline Field, Bookkeeper/Secretary Dina Cutting, Administrative Assistant Carole Bont and Peter Mulvihill.
- 2. The following administrative matters were discussed and actions taken:
 - a. The minutes for March 13 were approved with minor corrections.
 - b. The manifest was reviewed and signed.
 - c. The maintenance contract for the Selectmen's office copier was approved and signed.
 - d. The MS-2 report of appropriations was signed.
 - e. The Board voted to waive the planning fee for a fire pond on Robert Meyer's property, 41 Davison Lane.
 - f. The Board voted to pay the GMC truck repair bill of \$6762.63 from the Emergency Major Equipment Rebuilding Trust Fund (Initial approval was voted February 14).
 - g. The Board agreed that the "time and place" for the hearing of parties regarding their liability to be taxed should be during the regular Selectboard meeting at the fire station on Thursday, April 10 from 8:00 10:00 AM
 - h. Dina will be on vacation for next week. The Board approved her request.
- 3. Peter Mulvihill and Scott Steffey came in to discuss the methodology of appointing members to boards, committees and commissions where the Selectboard had authority to appoint directly.

Historically such appointments were suggested by the relevant committee and then approved by the Selectboard. Peter said that both Horace Henriques and Scott Steffey were interested in serving on the Conservation Commission and had submitted resumes. There was an issue that these had not been received and Dick asked that they be forwarded to him and he would ensure they were placed before the Conservation Commission. There was a general discussion on how appointments should be sought and made, in particular that there should be more openness in recruiting committee members. The Board also noted Peter's comments that retiring committee members should not automatically be re-appointed. a. Board and committee appointments were then signed for :

i.	Recreation Commission	
	Dina Cutting	to March 2011
	Robert Couture	to March 2011
	Tom Yurksoky	to March 2009
ii.	Lyme Center Academy Building Committee Don Elder	to March 2011
iii.	Lyme History Committee Chris Schonenberger	to March 2011
iv.	Zoning Board of Adjustment Alan Greatorex	to March 2011

- b. Town Offices Committee.
 - i. The current charge for a Town Offices Committee had effectively expired with the passing of the bond vote. Simon proposed that a new charge for a New Town Offices Committee be adopted. This was approved with minor amendments.
 - ii. Dick moved and Simon seconded that Don Metz and Frank Bowles be appointed to the new committee. This was agreed unanimously. There would be further discussion and a listserv invitation before the appointment of other members.
 - iii. Patty asked that the initial contact with the State regarding the Rte 10/High St intersection be followed up. Simon will do this.
 - iv. A letter of thanks to building committee members was approved.
- 4. Remuneration to Town Employees: The Board discussed the payment of town employees who were also officials at town meeting. It was agreed that, in this instance, employees would be paid at the 'town employee rate' for their work at elections. However, the Board will review the whole treatment of employees during town meeting and election days and produce a standard format for employees who are also statutory officials, well before the next election (currently scheduled as the State primary in September).

Selectboard:	Chair until October 1: Chair from October 1:	Simon Charles
	Recorder:	Dick
Budget Committee:	Representative:	Dick
	Alternate:	Simon
Capital Improvements	Representative:	Dick
Program Committee:		
Conservation Commission:	Representative:	Dick

5. Selectboard and committee assignments for 2008 were agreed:

Energy Committee:	Representative:	Simon
Planning Board:	Representative:	Dick
	Alternate:	Simon
Recreation Commission:	Representative:	Charles
Safety Committee:	Liaison:	Charles
Town Offices Committee	Representative:	Simon

It was noted that there were a number of external bodies that the Selectboard should also have representation on. Further consideration was necessary for these.

- 6. Transfer Station:
 - a. The Board signed the UVLSRPC form confirming Hazardous Waste Days as proposed by Dan Quinn for August 28 and October 18.
 - b. There was a discussion on Easter Day closing. Dan confirmed, by phone, that the staff are happy to close on Sunday, as this was the same as the last few years.
 - c. The Board agreed to ask Dan and the Transfer Station Committee to come in and discuss the future of the committee.
- 7. At 10:00 AM Simon moved and Dick seconded a motion to go into non-public session under the authority of RSA 91-A:3 II(c) "matters which, if discussed in public, would likely affect adversely the reputation of any person" The motion carried by unanimous roll-call vote. Simon Carr, Dick Jones, Charles Ragan, Patty Jenks and Carole Bont attended the non-public session. At 10:55 AM Patty Jenks and Carole Bont left the non-public session.
- 8. The Board returned to public session at 11:48 AM.
- 9. The meeting adjourned at 11:49 AM.

Simon Carr Recorder